When does one know if he is a defensive or an attacking player?

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by LenaicM, Feb 27, 2018.

?

What is your style of play?

1. Defensive

2. Attacking

3. Balanced

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. LenaicM

LenaicM Regular Member

Hi everyone, 33-years-old beginner player here. Started badminton in September 2017 and took it pretty seriously since then with 2 practice sessions of 2 hours and a half per week and shadows + fitness exercices at home 3 times a week. A little bit of yoga before going to bed when time allows to keep my back pain free and try to prevent injuries. Shed a few kilograms in the process.

Did some solid progress even though I’m still a beginner and will post a video soon to get some critics as well but there is one aspect of my game that has been bothering me a lot lately: Am I a defensive player? If I am, what does it means? That I’m naturally better in a defensive style of play and need to pursue in this direction or that I need to upgrade my poor attacking skills because my game is unbalanced?

Playing against players of my level or slightly higher, I have tendency to loose to them whenever I try to play a little bit agressively with more attacks and intensity in my game by ending up making mistakes. On the other end whenever I play with a more defensive style, a little bit more passive than the adversary, using less stamina, with more lifts, drop shots and pushing him or her at the end of the court, returning their smashes and letting them smash again until the shuttle is out or in the net, I can win games with a larger margin in the score by letting my opponents get tired and do mistakes resulting in them scoring the majority of the points against themselves without me directly scoring much points.

Should I consider myself a defensive player and exploit further this aspect of my game or simply work harder on my attacking skills to balance my style of play?